Navigation Reference Manual – English (US)Download a copy of these instructions

Changing your route

Making changes to your route

After you plan a route, you may want to change the route or even the destination. There are various ways to change your route without the need to completely replan the entire trip.

To change the current route, tap Change route in the Main menu:


Change route

change-route-1

Tap this button to change the current route.

This button is only shown while there is a planned route on your device.


 

Change route menu

To change the current route or your destination, tap one of the following buttons:


Calculate alternative

change-route-2

Tap this button to find an alternative to the current route.

This button is only shown while there is a planned route on your Mazda NB1 device.

This is a simple way to search for a different route to your current destination.

Your device calculates a new route from your current location, to reach your destination using completely different roads.

The new route is shown next to the original route so that you can select the route you want to use.


Avoid roadblock

change-route-3

Tap this button while driving on a planned route, to avoid a roadblock or traffic congestion on the road ahead.

Your device will suggest a new route which avoids the roads on your current route for the selected distance.

If the roadblock or traffic congestion suddenly clears, tap Recalculate route to replan your original route.

Important: Be aware that when a new route is calculated you might be asked to turn off the current road immediately.


Minimize delay

change-route-4

Tap this button to avoid traffic delays on a planned route.

It is not always possible to avoid all traffic delays. Though your device continuously checks for delays on your route, you can tap this button to manually start a check. Your device then calculates the best route to avoid all or most of the delays.

Note: This button is only shown if your device has either a traffic subscription or an RDS-TMC Receiver. Traffic information is not available in all countries or regions. For more information about TomTom traffic information services, go to http://www.tomtom.com/services.


Change destination

change-route-5

Tap this button to change the current destination.

When you change the destination, you are shown the same options and asked to enter the new address in the same way as when you plan a new route.


Avoid part of route

change-route-6

Tap this button to avoid part of the current route.

You are shown a list of the street names on your route. When you tap one of the street names, your device calculates a detour to avoid the selected street. The route summary shows both the new route and your original route. Tap the panel at the right to select one of the routes and then tap Done.

If you do not want to use either of the routes shown in the route summary, tap Change route to find another way to change your route.


Add waypoint

change-route-7

Tap this button to change your route by selecting a location you want to travel past, perhaps to meet someone along the way.

When you select a location to travel past, you are shown the same options and asked to enter the new address in the same way as when you plan a new route.

Your device calculates the route to your destination via the selected location.

The selected location is shown on the map using a marker.

You receive a warning when you reach your destination and when you travel past a marked location.


 

About waypoints

Note: This feature is not available on all TomTom navigation devices.

You can choose to use waypoints for any of the following reasons:

  • You want to travel along a certain road or through a certain area on the way to your destination.
  • You want to make stops before reaching your final destination.

Your route can include the following types of waypoints:

  • Waypoints with notification - a waypoint that you are likely to want to stop and get out at, for example, a POI, a gas station or a friend's house. You are notified when nearing and arriving at the waypoint with voice instructions or a message.
  • Waypoints without notification - a waypoint that you are using to help guide your route, for example, you want to travel from Amsterdam to Rotterdam using a certain highway. You are not notified when nearing the waypoint.

Adding the first waypoint to your route

To add the first waypoint to your route, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Add waypoint.

    Tip:
    You can also tap View map and then tap Add waypoint in the cursor menu. If your device supports Voice control, you also speak commands to add waypoints.
  4. Choose the location for your waypoint from a choice of Home, Favorite, Address, Recent destination, POI or you can perform a search.

On the route summary screen, a message confirms that the route is being recalculated to include the waypoint. On the Change route menu, the Travel via button changes to show that you now have one waypoint on your current route.

Note: All waypoints are added initially as waypoints with notification. The maximum number of waypoints you can add is four.

Adding further waypoints to your route

To add more waypoints to your route after the first one has been added, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Manage waypoints.

    Tip:
    If your device supports Voice control, you also speak commands to add waypoints.
  4. Tap Add.
  5. Choose the location for your waypoint from a choice of Home, Favorite, Address, Recent destination, POI or you can perform a search.
    A message tells you where in the list of waypoints the new one has been inserted.
  6. Tap Done.
    On the route summary screen, a message confirms that the route is being recalculated to include your waypoints.
  7. Repeat to add more waypoints.
    On the Change route menu, the Manage waypoints button changes to show that you now have several waypoints on your current route.

Note: All waypoints are added initially as waypoints with notification.

Changing the order of waypoints

Waypoints are automatically added in an optimized order but you can still change the order manually if you need to. To change the order of waypoints, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Manage waypoints.
    You see a list of your waypoints.
  4. Tap the waypoint you want to move up or down.
    You see a screen with the name of your waypoint at the top.
  5. Tap Move up or Move down.
    Your waypoint changes its position in the list and you are immediately returned to your list of waypoints.

Tip: You cannot move an unvisited waypoint into a list of already visited waypoints.

Deleting a waypoint

To delete a waypoint, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main Menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Manage waypoints.
    You see a list of your waypoints.
  4. Tap the waypoint you want to delete.
    You see a screen with the name of your waypoint at the top.
  5. Tap Delete.
    Your waypoint is deleted and you are immediately returned to your list of waypoints.

Changing notification settings for a waypoint

If a waypoint has notification switched on, you see an icon next to it in your list of waypoints. To switch notification on or off for a waypoint, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Manage waypoints.
    You see a list of your waypoints.
  4. Tap the waypoint that you want to change the notification setting for.
    You see a screen with the name of your waypoint at the top.
  5. Tap Switch on/off notification.
    The notification setting changes for your waypoint and you are immediately returned to your list of waypoints.

Tip: If a waypoint has already been visited, you cannot switch notification on or off.

Reactivating a waypoint

Note: You can only reactivate a waypoint that has already been visited. Visited waypoints are grayed out.

To reactivate a waypoint, do the following:

  1. Tap the screen to bring up the Main menu.
  2. Tap Change route.
  3. Tap Manage waypoints.
    You see a list of your waypoints.
  4. Tap the visited waypoint that you want to reactivate.
    You see a screen with the name of your waypoint at the top.
  5. Tap Reactivate.
    The waypoint is deleted and reinserted into the list of waypoints that haven't yet been visited.